FREMONT CHESS CLUB

The original Fremont Chess Club was started by Hans Poschmann and Robert Pellerin in 1969.



Hans awarding trophy to Kenny Fong

He was a master cabinet maker and crafted all the trophies for the club.



FREMONT CC CHAMPION TROPHY:

1973 Barry Brandt

1974 Ernest Curto

1975 Randy Fong

1976	Randy Fong
1977	Chris Mavraedis
1978	Rendon Holloway
1981	Kenny Fong
1982	Stewart Thorsby
1983	Stewart Thorsby
1984	Ed Sheffield
1985	Kerry Lawless
2001	Riley Hughes



THE EBONY ROOK TROPHY (FREMONT CC ANNUAL ELIMINATION TOURNAMENT):

- 1969 Tony Ebarb
- 1970 Ben Jansen
- 1971 Hans Poschmann
- 1972 Hans Poschmann
- 1973 Rick Price
- 1974 Randy Fong
- 1975 Randy Fong
- 1976 Randy Fong
- 1977 Kenny Fong
- 1978 Ernest Curto
- 1979 Kenny Fong
- 1981 Kenny Fong

1982 Jan Olsson

1983 Hans Poschmann

1984 Kerry Lawless

2001 Riley Hughes

2003 Bela Evans

The new Fremont Chess Club, run by Ken Zowal, is very active...definitely the happening place for Fremont chess. Check it out; http://www.newfremontchessclub.org/.

The two surviving trophies will be on permanent display at Elizabeth Shaunghnessy's Berkeley Chess School, http://www.berkeleychessschool.org/pages/show/1.